82 Chancellor St

Each summer I took the train to Glasgow, where my grandmother would meet me. She lived at 82 Chancellor St. In Glasgow I was a street kid, we gathered in a group and went everywhere together – swimming, tha Art Gallery, the Museum… There was always a crowd of us. I would sit on the tenement steps and I was immediately involved. I loved it.

One job I didn’t enjoy was cleaning the tenement steps, it was a hard job for a little kid but it was the trade-off for all of those adventures.

One day, when I was staying in Glasgow, there was a soot fall all over the kitchen. I had had a bath the night before and felt particularly clean until I saw my face..

Leave a Reply

